Musgrove celebrates staff excellence at the 2015 MAFTA Ceremony - 03 July 2015

Musgrove celebrates staff excellence at the 2015 MAFTA Ceremony - 03 July 2015


Through nine different award categories, colleagues, teams and volunteers from different areas of the hospital were recognised and celebrated for their achievements over the past year.

This year, there was an impressive 170 nominations in total. The award categories were: Patient’s Choice, Patient Champion, Quality Improvement, Volunteer of the Year, Behind the Scenes, Innovation, Emerging Leader, Inspirational Leader and Collaborative Working. Back in the spring, judges had the tricky task of shortlisting the final nominees in each category down to three, who were then invited to the MAFTA award dinner and ceremony at Somerset County Cricket Club where this year’s winners were reve­aled. The evening was hosted by Musgrove’s Chief Executive, Dr Sam Barrell, and Therapies Lead, Claire Boobyer-Jones.

Speaking of the event, Sam said: “This is the first year that I’ve hosted a MAFTA ceremony; I was so delighted to be part of such an inspiring event which clearly means so much to people. It is truly wonderful to celebrate and share staff success in this way.

“We have so many talented people in our hospital, which makes me feel extremely proud. I would like to take this opportunity to again give my congratulations to all this year’s MAFTA nominees and winners.”

This year the Fellowship Award, which is chosen by the Chairman to recognise individuals who have consistently made a positive contribution over a long period of time, was presented to Jane Maguire, Senior Clinical Site Manager.

In presenting Jane with her award, Musgrove’s Chairman, Colin Drummond, said: “Jane really personifies Musgrove. Her dedication to keeping our hospital running out of hours, commitment to creating the best patient experience, positive attitude and support in making the staff environment the best it can be are just some of the reasons why she won our 2015 Fellowship Award.

This year’s winners and runners up were:

Patient Champion Award

Winner: Luan Kmita, Dietetic Assistant

Runners up:

Marinka Depledge, Health Care Assistant

Wordsworth Ward led by Maggie Poole

Volunteer of the Year Award

Winner: Marie Curie Musgrove Companions

Runners up:

Debbie Bentley, Beacon Centre Volunteer

Jenny Whitfield and Daisy the Pets as Therapy dog

Innovation Award

Winner: HANDi App Team – Dr Sarah Bridges and Dr Amy Whiting

Runners up:

Cancer Manual Team

Hayley Stone, Specialist Smoking Cessation Midwife

Quality Improvement Award

Winner: Spinal Enhanced Recovery Programme Team

Runners up:

Nursing Preceptor and Assistant Practitioner ‘Fresh Eyes’ Project

Paediatric Diabetes Team

Behind the Scenes Award

Winner: Claire White, Clerical Officer

Runners up:

Jon Smith, Catering Liaison Manager

Michele Pereira, Radiotherapy Helper

Inspirational Leader of the Year Award Winner: Mandy Coombs, Head of Theatres and Critical Care

Runners up:

Dr Rob Andrews, Clinical Director of Research / Consultant Endocrinologist  

Helen Chapple, Senior Staff Nurse

Emerging Leader Award

Winner: Hayley Stone, Specialist Smoking Cessation Midwife

Runners up:

Claire Prentice, Associate Directorate Manager, Acute Medicine

Iwona Mezydlo, Clinical Service Support Manager

Collaborative Working Award

Winner: The Peer Vaccination Flu Fighter Team

Runners up:

Alison Timmins, Transfusion Practitioner

Hayley Stone, Specialist Smoking Cessation Midwife

Patient’s Choice Award

Winner: Jane Holder, HIV Clinical Nurse Specialist / Lead Nurse for Genitourinary Medicine (GUM)

Runners up:

The Antenatal Clinic Diabetes Team

Teresa Norman, Midwife, Willow Ward

Fellowship Award

Winner: Jane Maguire, Clinical Site Manager.

Pictured are: this year’s MAFTA winners.

MAFTA Winners 2015