Musgrove celebrates staff excellence at the 2014 MAFTAs - 04 July 2014

Musgrove celebrates staff excellence at the 2014 MAFTAs - 04 July 2014

The Musgrove Fellowship Award

Innovation, dedication and talent were celebrated by staff from across Musgrove Park Hospital on Wednesday, 2nd July, at the hospital’s annual Musgrove Awards for Tremendous Achievement (MAFTAs).

Through over 10 categories, individual staff and teams from all parts of the hospital were recognised and rewarded for their achievements over the past year. Volunteers were also paid tribute to.

The winners were whittled down from nearly 150 nominations across the categories, which included ‘Making the Most of Musgrove’, the Innovation Award and the Excellent Care Award.

Judges had a hard task in shortlisting the final nominees in each category down to just three, who were then invited to a celebratory MAFTAs dinner at Somerset County Cricket Club where this year’s winners were revealed.

The evening was hosted by Musgrove’s Chief Executive, Jo Cubbon, and Emergency Medicine Consultant, Dr Cliff Mann.

Jo said: “This is the fourth year we have held the MAFTAs and each year I am so humbled and proud of the stories we hear about how our staff are making such a difference to our patients, either by delivering exceptionally high quality care and going above and beyond what is expected of them, working to improve safety, or inventing something that improves patients’ care.”

This year the special Musgrove Fellowship Award, which recognises individuals who have consistently made a positive contribution to the work of the hospital, was presented to Peter Joyce, Surgical Planning Manager.

In presenting Peter with his award, Musgrove’s Chairman, Rosalinde Wyke, said: “Peter was nominated as he has made a significant contribution to Musgrove Park Hospital. He has worked here for more than two decades in both operational and strategic roles and during that time services have improved, facilities have been created and staff have been developed.

“The most striking recent example of his work is in the successful Jubilee Building project in which he played a pivotal planning and operational-preparedness role, co-ordinating the business care approval process for the project and working in the background on the project for years to make it a reality.

This year’s winners and highly commended individuals and teams were:

Excellent Care Award

Winner: Sylvia Ellicott, Housekeeper, Fielding Ward

Highly Commended:

Frances McLanaghan, Staff nurse on Sedgemoor Ward

Tamsin Carey, Occupational Therapist, Dunkery Ward

Patient Safety Award

Winner: The F2 Doctors Team

Highly Commended:

The Patient Safety Cross Team:

Andrea Mostyn-Jones Matron, Haematology and Oncology

Jenny Viney Patient Safety Lead Nurse, Clinical Governance

Robert Conway Matron/Project Manager

The Kidney Injury Team:

Dr Robert Baker and Dr Tarun Solanki

Volunteer of the Year Award

Winner: Fran Pitt, Volunteer, Dementia Services

Highly Commended:

Ron Powell, Volunteer, Medical Electronics and A&E

Jan Grant, Musgrove Volunteer

Musgrove’s Got Talent

Winner: Nicola Green, Senior Specialist Nurse, Children's Diabetes Team

Highly Commended:

Diane Boothman, Clinical Services Manager

Mandy Coombs, Directorate Manager, Theatres and Critical Care

Leading Team

Winner: The Clinical Site Team

Highly Commended:

The PACS/ RIS team

The Security team

The Innovation Award

Winner: Melvyn Marshman, Wheelchair Service Technical Manager, Occupational Therapy

Highly Commended:

Joanna Wilson, Survivorship Project Lead, Clinical Oncology

HSG Team

Leadership and Motivation

Winner: Donna Ryan, Ward Manager, Barrington Ward

Highly Commended:

Michelle Jennings, Clinical Education Officer, Clinical Oncology

Julie Eades, Ward Manager, Gould Ward

The Patients’ Choice Award:

Winner: Ward 9, Haematology

Highly Commended:

Melvyn Marshman, Wheelchair Service Technical Manager, Occupational Therapy

Holly Brighton, Midwife

Labour Ward

Making the Most of Musgrove

Winner: The Ophthalmology Practitioner Team

Nigel North and Craig Jones, Operating Department Practitioners, Head and Neck

Highly Commended:

The Spasticity Injection Clinic Team:

Helen Wilkinson, Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist, Adult Service

Hayley Tidball, Physiotherapy Helper, Adult Service

Gareth Maguire, Senior Physiotherapist, Adult Service

Annette Vickery, Physiotherapy Helper, Adult Service

Day Surgery Pre-operative Phone Call Team:

The Musgrove Fellowship

Winner: Peter Joyce, Surgical Planning Manager

Chairman’s Award

Winner: Jubilee Project Team

Pictured from left to right are: Hospital Chairman Rosalinde Wyke, with Peter Joyce winner of the Musgrove Fellowship Award.